Fallen officers remembered May 5 in Springfield (video)

Law enforcement officers who gave their lives in the line of duty were honored at a ceremony May 5 in Springfield attended by their friends, their families, and scores of police officers from across the state.

Held this year in the Illinois State Library because of inclement weather, the ceremony honored those officers who were killed in the line of duty during the 2021 calendar year. The names of those officers will be added to the Illinois Police Officers Memorial located on the grounds of the State Capitol complex

Honorees this year include: Melrose Park Police Officer Joseph T. Cappello III, Chicago Heights Police Officer Gary Steven Hibbs, Illinois State Police Senior Master Trooper Todd A. Hanneken, Hometown Police Lieutenant James J. Kouski Jr., Cook County Sheriff’s Police Officer Allen Serta Giachetti, Champaign Police Officer Christopher Neil Oberheim, Brooklyn Police Officer Brian Russell Pierce Jr., Chicago Police Officer Ella Grace French, Pontoon Beach Police Officer Tyler Nathaniel Timmins, Wayne County Sheriff’s Deputy Sean Ian Riley, and Bradley Police Sergeant Marlene R. Rittmanic.

Dale Fowler

Want to stay up to date with your Senator?

Sign up for the District E-Newsletter below: